Appraisal Disciplines

FIND A LOCAL ASA APPRAISER

ASA is a multi-discipline, non-profit, international organization of professional valuers. ASA members perform appraisals in one or more disciplines. 

Click on discipline tab below to find a local appraiser and member of the Houston Chapter of the American Society of Appraisers.

About Appraisal Review & Management (ARM)

Appraisal review objectively measures appraisal work against established standards and logic. USPAP defines Appraisal Review as “the act or process of developing and communicating an opinion about the quality of another appraiser’s work that was performed as part of an appraisal.” [USPAP Standard Rule 3].

Local Appraisal Review & Management Professionals

Cameron R. Tipton, ASA, ARM-MTS
cameron@flightlevel.co
Flight Level Partners
Houston, TX
Tel. 1 832 996-2787
Specialty: Aircraft

Melanie Modica, ASA, ARM-PP
melanie@modicafineart.com
Modica Fine Art
2429 Bissonnet, #500
Houston, TX 77005
Tel. 1 713 306-7966
Specialties: Appraisal Review for Personal Property, Fine Art Appraisals, Litigation Support & Expert Witness Services, Management of Multifaceted Assignments

Michael J. Morgan, ASA, ARM-BV, CPA
michael@houstonvaluation.com
Houston Valuation & Appraisal LLC
2019 Woodhead St
Houston, Texas  77019
Tel. 1 713 253-0001

Pamela Bensoussan, ASA, ARM-PP, CFLC
ArtAppraisers@comcast.net
www.ArtAndAntiqueAppraisers.com
Houston, TX
Tel. 1 713 239-2883
Specialties: Fine Art, Oriental Rugs & Textiles, Antique Furniture, Appraisal Review and Management, Expert Witness Services

About Business Valuation

Business valuation professionals provide independent opinions of value for business concerns. They also value intangible business assets such as copyrights, employment agreements, trademarks, securities and goodwill. These appraisers prepare merger and acquisition studies, employee stock ownership plan feasibility analyses and other similar financial studies.
NOTE: The designation ASA following the appraiser's name stands for Accredited Senior Appraiser and AM for Accredited Member. A Candidate member is one who is currently in pursuit of fulfilling the education and experience requirements to become a designated ASA member.

Local Business Valuation Appraisers

Alan B Harp, CFA, ASA
aharp@stout.com
Stout Risius Ross, LLC,  Managing Director
1000 Main Street, Suite 3200
Houston, TX 77002
Tel. 1 713 221-5113; 832.693.5872 (c)
Specialty: Oil and Gas

Alex Tittel, ASA
alex.tittel@weaver.com
Weaver & Tidwell, LLP
24 Greenway Plaza, Suite 1800
Houston, TX 77046
Tel. 1 713 850-8787

Beth Hardesty Hurst, MBA, ASA, ABV
bhurst@stewarthurst.com
Stewart & Hurst
1900 St. James Pl, Suite 875
Houston, Texas  77056
Tel. 1 713.974.2928
Specialty: Family Law and Personal Goodwill

Carol Akers Klug, ASA, MBA
caklug@swbell.net
4616 Laurel Street
Bellaire, Texas. 77401
Tel. 1 713.664.KLUG (5584)
Specialties: Shareholder Transactions, Divorce, Gifts, Estates

David Leathers, ASA
dleathers@alvarezandmarsal.com
Alvarez & Marsal, Managing Director
700 Louisiana Street, Suite 3300,
Houston, Texas 77002
Tel. 1 713-300-8240; 713-505-5022 (c)
Specialties: Intellectual Property and Energy related entities and assets.

David Palmer, ASA, CPA, MBA
DPalmer@GenesisPartners.INFO
Genesis Valuation Partners, LLC
3752 Bellaire Blvd.
Houston, TX  77025
Tel. 1 713-828-1751
Specialty: Business Consulting

Dunbar Chambers III, CFA, ASA
dunbar@davischambers.com
Davis/Chambers & Company, Ltd.
5701 Woodway, Suite 200
Houston, Texas 77057
Tel. 1 713 325-5006 Direct; 713 552-1333 Office

Gary A. Abdalla, ASA
GAbdalla@thinkbrg.com
www.thinkbrg.com/professionals-gary-abdalla.html
Houston, TX
Specialties: Damages Analysis, Disputes & Investigations, Forensic Accounting, Intellectual Property

Matthew Springer, ASA, ABV
matthew@ccaval.com
Convergent Capital Appraisers
242 W. 28th St.
Houston, TX 77008
Tel. 1 713 524-6444
Mike Hill, ASA, CPA, ABV
mike.hill@weaver.com
Weaver & Tidwell, LLP
24 Greenway Plaza, Suite 1800
Houston, TX 77046
Tel. 1 832 320-7995

J. Richard Claywell, CPA, ABV, ASA,
richard@biz-valuation.com
www.biz-valuation.com
1560 W. Bay Area Blvd., Ste 105
Friendswood, TX 77546
Tel. 1 281.488.7531;  281.286.812
Specialties: Forensic Accounting, Business Valuation, Damages, Lost Profits

Jeffrey D. Jones, ASA, CBA, CBI
jdj@certifiedappraisers.com
Certified Appraisers, Inc.
10500 Nothwest Fwy., Suite 200
Houston, TX  77092
Tel 1 713-680-3290

Joe Corkin, CFA, ASA
joe@davischambers.com
Davis/Chambers & Company, Ltd.
5701 Woodway Drive, Suite 200
Houston, Texas 77057
Tel. 1 713 552-1333

Justin J. F. Ramirez, AM
justin.ramirez@weaver.com
www.Weaver.com
Tel. 1  832.320.7981
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/justinjframirez/

Lewis Ball, ASA
lewis@davischambers.com
Davis/Chambers & Company, Ltd.
5701 Woodway Dr., Suite 200
Houston, Texas 77057
Tel. 1 713 552-1333

Michael J. Morgan, ASA, ARM-BV, CPA
michael@houstonvaluation.com
Houston Valuation & Appraisal LLC
2019 Woodhead St
Houston, Texas 77019
Tel. 1 713 253-0001

Paula F. Lindsey, ASA
paula@davischambers.com
Davis/Chambers & Company, Ltd.
5701 Woodway, Suite 200
Houston, Texas 77057
Tel. 1 713-552-1333, ext. 114

Scott S. Miller, MBA ASA, ABV
Scott@ccaval.com
Convergent Capital Appraisers
242 W. 28th St.
Houston, TX 77008
Tel. 1 713 524-6444

Steve Hu, ASA
stevehu99@yahoo.com
www.bdo.com
Houston, TX
Tel. 1 713 407-3254

Aaron Fleitman, Candidate
aaron@ccaval.com
Convergent Capital Appraisers
242 W. 28th St.
Houston, TX 77008
Tel. 1 713 524-6444

Robert Adams, Candidate,
bob@bobadamscpa.com
5851 San Felipe, Suite 210
Houston, TX 77057
Tel. 1 713-626-1040

About Gems and Jewelry Valuation

The value of diamonds and colored gemstones is based primarily on beauty, durability and rarity.  Because subtle differences in their quality so often lead to dramatic differences in value, it requires both education in gemology and ongoing knowledge of current markets to appraise them accurately. The materials, techniques and designs of the jewelry arts are matters for lifetime study.
NOTE: The designation ASA following the appraiser's name stands for Accredited Senior Appraiser and AM for Accredited Member. A Candidate member is one who is currently in pursuit of fulfilling the education and experience requirements to become a designated ASA member.

Local Gems and Jewelry Appraisers

Christine York, GG, ASA
Master Gemologist Appraiser
chris13.york@gmail.com
Christine York Jewelry & Appraisals LLC
5233 Bellaire Blvd. Suite B-334
Bellaire, TX 77401
Tel. 1 713 665-1650

Mark J. Sandler, ASA, MGA, GG
Master Gemologist Appraiser
gems@designerjewels.com
Designer Jewels
5433 Westheimer Rd. Ste 400
Houton, TX 77056
Specialties: Jewelry, Gemstones, Restoration, Jewelry creation and design, Watches and watch repair

About MTS Valuation

Machinery and Technical Specialties appraisers perform market or liquidation valuations for various purposes such as sale, acquisition, ad valorem tax, eminent domain, collateralization, insurance or residual forecasting. The MTS discipline is comprised of several specialties. 
NOTE: The designation ASA following the appraiser's name stands for Accredited Senior Appraiser and AM for Accredited Member. A Candidate member is one who is currently in pursuit of fulfilling the education and experience requirements to become a designated ASA member.

Local MTS Appraisers

Cameron R. Tipton, ASA, ARM-MTS
cameron@flightlevel.co
Flight Level Partners
Houston, TX
Tel. 1 832 996-2787
Specialty: Aircraft

Corey DeWitt, AM
corey@flightlevel.co
Flight Level Partners
Houston, TX
Tel. 1 832 996-2787
Specialty: Aircraft

Ernie Killingsworth, ASA
ernie@kairvals.com
Killingsworth Aircraft Valuation Service, LLC
Atascocita, TX
Tel. 281 796-4812
Specialty: Aircraft

Grant Rabon, ASA
grabon@newgenstrategies.net
NewGen Strategies & Solutions, Executive Consultant
3420 Executive Center Drive, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78731
Tel. 1 512 900-8232,  512 565-0123 (c)
Specialty: Public Utilities

Horacio Correa, ASA
horacio@horaciocorrea.com
Correa Consulting, LLC
5114 Beaver Rd
Santa Fe, TX 77517
Tel. 1 281 748-1756
Specialities: Complex equipment, Industrial, refinery

Jeffrey A. Hutton, ASA
jeff.hutton@arthurlloyd.com
Arthur Lloyd LLC
120 Oxford Court, Suite 100
Austin, TX 78737
Tel. 1 512 301-5364; 630 301-9535 (c)

Michael Clarkson, ASA
michaeltvs@msn.com
Technical Valuation Services Inc.
13525 Madrone Mt Way
Austin, Tx 78737
Tel. 1 512 789 5140
Specialties: Energy and Heavy Industry

Raymond T. Garcia, PE, ASA
rtgarcia@sbcglobal.net
R. T. GARCIA & CO., INC.
2503 South Blvd, Suite 205
Houston, TX 77098
Tel. 1 713-654-8053

Robert S. Svoboda, ASA
bob@integrityval.com
Integrity Valuation
3215 Ridge Green Drive
Kingwood, TX 77345-2427
Tel. 1 281.312.1109; 832.445.5561 (c)

Trey Gilmore, ASA
trey.gilmore@us.gt.com
Grant Thornton LLP
Corp. Value Consulting-Director
700 Milam St., Suite 300
Houston, TX 77002
Tel. 1 832 487-1442; 713 305-1399 (c)
linkd.in/grantthorntonus

Wayland T. Hutcheson, ASA
wthutch@aol.com
Realty Support, Inc.
PO Box 926335
Houston, TX  77292-6335
Tel. 1 713 686-5953
Specialties: Real Property (all types), Machinery & Equipment

William E. Banfield, ASA
banfield@4ami.com
Executive Vice President
Asset Management International, Inc.
PO Box 890265
Houston, TX 77289
Tel. 1 281 751-7548, 908 892-4911

About Personal Property Valuation

Personal property is tangible, movable and utilitarian, collectible, or decorative. It can be anything from paintings, antiques, coins, photography, vintage posters, musical instruments and more. A personal property appraiser identifies and provides a value for these types of objects. The American Society of Appraisers trains and accredits appraisers in personal property valuation.
NOTE: The designation ASA following the appraiser's name stands for Accredited Senior Appraiser and AM for Accredited Member. A Candidate member is one who is currently in pursuit of fulfilling the education and experience requirements to become a designated ASA member.

Local Personal Property Appraisers

Alvin L. Stern, AM
coinvalu@yahoo.com
Rarities Room Auction/Appraisal
10118 Altonbury Ln.
Houston, TX 77031
Tel. 1 281-333-8343
Specialty:  Numismatics - Rare Coins & Currency

Evan S. Epstein, ASA
evanepstein@swbell.net
Fine Arts Appraisal Service
2929 Buffalo Speedway, Unit 302
Houston, Texas 77098
T: 1 713.622.8824

Georgie M. Stillman, ASA Life Member
georgiestillman@att.net
www.ArtAndAntiqueAppraisers.com
Houston, TX
Tel. 1 713 485-4419
Specialties: Antiques & Decorative Arts, Silver, Residential Contents, litigation Support

Melanie Modica, ASA, ARM-PP, CFLC
melanie@modicafineart.com
Modica Fine Art
2429 Bissonnet, #500
Houston, TX 77005
Tel. 1 713 306-7966
Specialties: Appraisal Review for Personal Property, Fine Art Appraisals, Litigation Support & Expert Witness Services, Management of Multifaceted Assignments

Pamela Bensoussan, ASA, ARM-PP, CFLC
ArtAppraisers@comcast.net
www.ArtAndAntiqueAppraisers.com
Houston, TX
Tel. 1 713 239-2883
Specialties: Fine Art, Oriental Rugs & Textiles, Antique Furniture, Appraisal Review and Management, Expert Witness Services

Barbara Blades-Lines, ASA, ISA-CAPP
Barbara@BladesAppraisals.com
BladesAppraisals.com
2210 Mid Lane #114
Houston, TX 77027
Tel. 1 832 696-7271
Specialties: Decorative Art & Antiques, Fine Art

Gail Faerman, Candidate
faermang@swbell.net
www.fineartsappraisalservice.com
5322 Grape Street
Houston, Texas 77096

Julie Kinzelman, Candidate
julie@kinzelmanart.com
www.kinzelmanart.com
3907 Main Street
Houston, Texas 77002

ABOUT REAL PROPERTY VALUATION

The American Society of Appraiser’s (ASA) Real Property Valuation Professional adheres to the highest industry standards (USPAP) and level of ethical conduct. Every ASA Real Property appraiser must meet meticulous requirements in education, experience and comprehensive testing before being awarded either the coveted Accredited Member (AM) or Accredited Senior Appraisers (ASA) designation.

Local Real Property Appraisers

Jeffrey L. Hays, ASA
haysjeff@swbell.net
J & J Hays, Inc.
2808 Helberg Rd
Houston, TX 77092-7802
Tel. 1 713 681-7955

Richard Hurt Jr., ASA, IFAS
richard.hurt77@gmail.com
3518 Dryer Park Drive
Spring, TX 77373-2709
Tel. 1 832 442-5739

Trevor E. Phillips, FRICS, ASA, CRE
tphillips@alvarezandmarsal.com
Alvarez & Marsal, Managing Director
700 Louisiana Street, Suite 3300,
Houston, Texas 77002
Tel. 1   713 547 3694
Specialty: Damage claims arising in real estate, environmental, and mortgage-related litigation, including class action matters

Wayland T. Hutcheson, ASA
wthutch@aol.com
Realty Support, Inc.
PO Box 926335
Houston, TX  77292-6335
Tel. 1 713 686-5953
Specialties: Real Property (all types), Machinery & Equipment